Sunday, November 23, 2014

Recipes Of The Day!

For readers of APRIL, MAYBE JUNE (and everyone else, of course), a couple of recipes for foods seen in the novel.


Based On Toll House Oatmeal
(About 4 dozen cookies)

1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt (optional)
1 ¼ cups packed light brown sugar
1 cup butter, softened
½ cup sugar
2 eggs
2 tablespoons milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 ½ cups old-fashioned oats (Quaker oatmeal)
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate morsels (Hershey's or Nestle's)
1 cup coarsely chopped nuts (optional)

Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in separate mixing bowl. Beat brown sugar, butter, and sugar with mixer (in large bowl) until creamy. Gradually beat in eggs, milk, and vanilla. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in oats, morsels, and nuts.
Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake in preheated 375 degree oven for 9 to 10 minutes for chewy cookies or 12 to 13 minutes for crispy cookies. Watch so that they don't burn! Let stand for 1 minute; remove to wire rack to cool completely.

APRIL'S TRAVEL MIX (like trail mix)
1 cup sweetened dried cranberries
1/2 cup dried tart cherries
1/2 cup dried pineapple pieces
1 cup candy-coated dark chocolate pieces (such as M&M's Dark Chocolate) or Reese's Pieces; you could use 1/2 cup of each
2 1/2 cups salted deluxe mixed nuts (without peanuts)

Combine (shake, shake, shake!) and store in an airtight container.

No comments:

Post a Comment